The Princess Bride

Quotable quotes from The Princess Bride:

“Inconceivable!”

“Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya.  You killed my father.  Prepare to die.”

“Stop that rhyming now, I mean it!
Anybody want a peanut?”

This movie was a great for those days when I stayed home sick from school, because it had ME in it.  Fred Savage played that character, “The Grandson” who stayed home sick from school.  All we know is he’d had a fever at one point.  It was vauge.  Then Peter Falk, “The Grandfather” came over to read him a story, which quickly put a stop to his Sega playing time.  As the grandfather says, this book (movie) has everything.  Adventure, romance, comedy, swordplay, giants, death, torture, pirates, princes & princesses…and a Spaniard.

My wife had never seen this when we first started dating, and she relentlessly made fun of me for loving a movie called “The Princess Bride.”  And admittedly, I remember my parents telling me I’d love this movie and thinking…”Uh…are you joking?”  But it worked, I watched, I loved.  Chandra started watching it with me a couple of years ago, but quickly fell out of interest during the first 10 minutes.  This time, I got her to sit and watch almost the whole movie with me.  She fell asleep towards the end because it was almost midnight, but she said she enjoyed it.  HURRAH!

This story of True Love, has it’s main character fighting almost to the death to save his love from marrying an evil prince, dangers in the fire swamp, murder at the hands of her betrothed (to then be blamed on feuding neighbors Gilder).  But along the way are GREAT characters that add a lot of depth and fun to the story.  My favorite (as is most) are the partners Fezzik & Inigo.  Played masterfully by Andre the Giant (WWF wrestler) and Mandy Patinkin (Criminal Minds), these two are hilarious, and lovable.  Inigo wants nothing out of life except to avenge his father’s death at the hands of the six-fingered man.  Fezzik, is a brute who has a huge heart and wants to be loved by his fellow man.

You know this story.  You have to.  If you haven’t seen it, I require you to go watch it.  It’s a modern-day classic.  It’s got everything anyone could want in a movie, and unlike other cult classics like Monty Python and the Holy Grail, I don’t know ANYONE who’s seen this movie and said they didn’t like it.  This has a 100% recommendation from me.

Explore posts in the same categories: 1

One Comment on “The Princess Bride”

  1. hippylostintime Says:

    Absolutely one of my top 10 movies of all freaking time! You forgot the quote, “As you wish…”, Andy! Plus, the protagonist has a GREAT first name …


Leave a Reply

