Hancock

Well, since I’m currently ‘between jobs’ you won’t hear a lot from me in the realm of recent release…cuz I’m being frugal.  However, listening to 89fm the Impact (MSU student radio) I won myself some free tix to go see this one, and I was happy to do so.

I’ll start with my big negative.  Stop the damn camera movement already!  Seriously!  It’s like the DP (Director of Photography) just said, “all I want is for you guys to shake the cameras, zoom in and out repeatedly and without any idea of what we’re looking at…and and throw a really deep focal length in there…yeah, right past the actors and backgrounds into nothingness.”  It was seriously distracting for the first 20 minutes.  Just constant disregard for film-making in my opinion.

That being said, this movie had a great plot.  I can’t tell you about it though.  The previews show VERY LITTLE of the movie, and for good reason.  This is not just about a superhero who likes being disliked and his rise to the publics good graces.  Although that has a lot to do with the start of it.  It quickly moves much deeper…and it’s good.  I didn’t see it coming.

And for those of you who have read spoilers…I really don’t think you’ve heard the truth just yet.  There’s been some murmurs about relationship stuff…but nah…you’ve got nothin’.

Sorry for the short review, I’ll just say this until it’s been out for a long time: Go see it, but sit in the back so you don’t get dizzy and disoriented.  I feel like apologizing for the camera work, even though I had nothing to do with it…just because I’m recommending it.  Anyway…check this one out!  If you can’t afford the theater, that’s fine, because it’ll probably be better on a smaller, less disorienting screen.  🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: 1

2 Comments on “Hancock”

  1. Leigh Ann Says:

    I loved this movie. Didn’t mind the camera movement so much. I totally didn’t see the twist coming either (my husband predicted it though). This movie was so much more than what the preview shows, as you stated. Great movie though. Good recomendation. 😀

  2. Andy O Says:

    Thanks Leigh Ann. Most people I’ve talked to didn’t notice the camera movement…this is my curse. My wife said she knew “something” was up with the surprise situation, but even she didn’t see what actually was to come. I’d own this one when it comes out I think. I REALLY want to go see The Dark Knight when it comes out. And I still haven’t seen Wanted or the Incredible Hulk.


Leave a Reply

